• Opening Time : 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM


Higher education in Denmark is offered by a range of universities, university colleges, business academies and specialised institutions. The national higher education system is in accordance with the Bologna process, with bachelor’s degrees (first cycle, three years), master’s degrees (second cycle, two years) and doctoral degrees (third cycle, three years). The majority of higher education institutions are the responsibility of the Ministry of Higher Education and Science (Denmark), however, some higher education institutions within the arts are the responsibility of the Ministry of Culture.


The general entry requirement for acceptance to higher education is a Danish upper secondary school leaving certificate or equivalent. Individual programmes also have specific entry requirements, such as mathematics at a specific level, and language requirements in Danish or English or both. Admission at first cycle programmes in Denmark is coordinated centrally by the Ministry of Higher Education and Science.[2] Admission to master’s programmes and doctoral programmes is done at each individual university.

Structure and grading

Higher education in Denmark is structured according to the ECTS. A normal study progression awards 60 ECTS-points per year (30 per semester), most institutions use a block system of either 5, 7.5 or 10 ECTS-points. Academic grading in Denmark is done according to the 7-point grading scale (Danish: 7-trins-skalaen), equalling the seven grades in the ECTS grading scale.


Institutions of higher education in Denmark are divided into five categories: business academies, university colleges, intstitutions in architecture and art, maritime educational institutions and universities. The term university of applied sciences is not used officially.


There are eight universities in Denmark awarding bachelor degrees, master’s degrees and doctoral degrees:

Leave a Reply

Open chat
How Can I Help You!